Call us: (888) 555-5555
HomeHistory / About UsOfficers & Advisory BoardChaptersEvents & Activities

Interested in learning more about us?
          Top Row (left to right)Mattie Rankin ● Katherine Douglas ● Mae Edwards Curry ● Dorothy Sylvers Brown ● Atheline Shelton Graham
                    Bottom Row (left to right) Earline Carter ● Mary Green Hubbard ● Ivy Burt Banks ● Ethel Madison ● Lena Reed ● Ann Porter

History of the Southeastern Region

The Southeastern Region of Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated, affectionately known as the Supersagacious Southeastern Region, was formed in 1968. The Southeastern Region is comprised of the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, and Mississippi, The United States Virgin Islands, Panama (formerly the Canal Zone) and Puerto Rico. At the time of the Region’s formation, Bettye Timmons from Alpha Gamma Chapter was appointed and served as Southeastern Regional Director. Currently there are 14 active chapters in the Region. The Southeastern Region continues to be the largest region in the organization.  Out of the eighteen Presidents that have held offices in Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., four come from the Southeastern Region. President Bettye Jane Gaiter Timmons, Alpha Gamma Chapter, served from 1982-1986; President Julia H. Davis, Iota Chapter, served from 1994-1998; President Jean Dade Batchie, Iota Chapter, served from 2006-2010 and our 18th National President, Colette McCurdy-Jackson, Alpha Gamma Chapter, 2018-present. Several of the region’s members have served, or are currently serving, as national officers. 
(Return to top)  
Contact Us
Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., a non-profit business and professional women’s organization, founded in 1942 by eleven women who attended Lewis Business College in Detroit, Michigan. The vision of these eleven visionary Founders was to promote higher scholastic standards, personal growth, career awareness, and to provide opportunities for community service. Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was incorporated in 1943.

The eleven Founders were Ivy Burt Banks, Earline Carter, Katherine Douglas, Mae Edwards Curry, Merry Green Hubbard, Ethel Madison, Ann Porter, Lena Reed, Mattie Rankin, Atheline Shelton Graham, and Dorothy Sylvers Brown.

The purpose of Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. is to promote and develop closer fellowship between business and professional women and to work for their welfare; to obtain for women the opportunity for the highest standards in all business fields; to aid high school graduates by awarding scholarships to further their education in business and professional fields; and to contribute financially to local and national charities and to promote and assist in programs designated for improving the well-being of developmentally disabled citizens.

For over 75 years, Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. has provided services to improve the quality of life of individuals in many communities throughout the United States and the Virgin Islands. All programs and projects are consistent with our motto, “Not For Ourselves, But For Others”.

To learn more about our organization and how to become a member please click here to visit our national web site. (Return to top)  

SHADs:  The SHADs are the husbands of Sorority members. They provide scholarships, serve as role models for the youth, and implement various community service projects.

Youth Group:  The Youth Group includes the Bee-Ettes, young ladies ages 12-18; Senords, young men ages 12-18; and Eta Kids, children ages 6-11. The Youth Group participates in personal development workshops and activities, assists with Sorority sponsored programs and implements various community service projects. (Return to top)